Track List for Buffett’s New Album

posted October 27th, 2009 at 10:22 am

by Josh Martin and Mailboat Records has additional information on Jimmy Buffett’s new album “Buffet Hotel”, including the full track list:

A brand new studio album, named for an old colonial era train station/hotel Jimmy ran across in Timbuktu, Mali during a trip to the “Festival In The Desert,” will feature Summerzcool, A Lot To Drink About, Surfing In a Hurricane and 9 other new songs!

The title track has a strong West African influence and was conceived during that same trip to Mali for the music festival. “It was one of the best musical experiences of my life,” said Jimmy. The Buffet Hotel was the venue for the music scene that exploded in Mali after its independence in 1960.

In addition to the Coral Reefer Band, the album also includes guest artists Sonny Landreth, Jake Shimabukuro, Cedric Burnside, Steve “Lightnin'” Malcome and Toumani Diabate. Produced by Mike Utley and Mac McAnally, the release also features a 24-page booklet with lyrics, stories behind the song, and how Jimmy went to West Africa looking for stories, and returned with an album. “…Stories are still the things good songs are made of,” said Jimmy.

1. Nobody From Nowhere
2. Wings
3. Big Top
4. Beautiful Swimmers
5. Turn Up The Heat and Chill The Rose
6. Summerzcool
7. Rhumba Man
8. We Learned To Be Cool From You
9. Surfing In a Hurricane
10. Life Short Call Now
11. Buffet Hotel
12. A Lot To Drink About

“Buffet Hotel” contains 12 great new songs, and also includes a 24-page booklet printed on recycled paper. The CD was influenced by a trip to the West African “Festival In The Desert,” a music event that takes place annually near Timbuktu. It was in Bamako that Jimmy discovered Buffet Hotel, an old colonial era train station/hotel, which was where the music scene flourished in Mali in the 60’s. This collection includes a few songs that Jimmy premiered during the 2009 summer tour, including “Summerzcool” and “A Lot To Drink About.” Guest artists on the album include Sonny Landreth, Jake Shimabukuro, Cedric Burnside, Steve “Lightnin'” Malcolm and Toumani Diabate, and was produced by long-time Coral Reefers Mike Utley and Mac McAnally.

Pre-Order now from or Mailboat Records. The album will be released December 8th.

Tagged in Albums, Singles

  • mbennett

    YAY, A NEW ALBUM!!!!

  • BJ Wanlund

    Wow, it looks as if it’s all original Buffett-penned (or co-penned) tracks this time round.


  • marty farrell

    no,rhumba man is a cover of a Jesse Winchester song.

  • gmurray

    Anyone know if it will be released on iTunes or Amazon as an MP3 Album?

  • Fred Speece

    Definitely a good cd. Being from Baltimore I particularly liked, “Beautiful Swimmers”, originally a classic book about the Chesapeake Bay Blue Crab. I reconized some of the tunes (samples?) from other albums from the past, but no complaint here. After 30 or so albums repitition is bound to creep in (can anybody say Rolling Stones?). One technical point on my cd, Big Top and Wings were switched. It’s also a shame that I haven’t heard, “Something To Drink About”, on the radio.


Receive a daily e-mail
with the latest news!